Latest Video

Monday, May 30, 2011

Sachin Rested, Yuvraj & Gauti Out, Mukund & Kohli Earn Test Cap

India's Already Weak Line Up Against West Indies in Test Series suffered another blow with the World Cup Hero Yuvraj Singh & The In-Form Gambhir OUT because of injury, Sachin Was rested for the entire Series. Flamboyant Virat Kohli finally gets a chance in test after his brilliant outing in World Cup & IPL and Tamil Nadu Opener A Mukund also earned a spot after a prolific Ranji Season.

Suresh Raina has been appointed captain for the one-dayers and the Twenty20 fixture and Harbhajan Singh, the vice-captain. 

Shikhar Dhawan and Manoj Tiwary have replaced Yuvraj and Gambhir in the limited-overs squad.  

So, in all India are without Sachin Tendulkar, Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer Khan, Gambhir and Ashish Nehra for the one-dayers.

Chairman Of Selectors K Srikkanth told the reporters :
 "I think we will do very well. I think we have an excellent team and I think as you know, I think all the last couple of years indirect or directly there have been teams that has been, we've always had teams, we've always kind of shuffled people so that, we always create a good bench strength."

And I think we have a fantastic bench strength and I'm sure India can easily produce almost two good international teams because we have the talent. We have the potential and I'm very confident that our team will do very well in West Indies and hopefully win the series in West Indies,"
He Also Said “Tendulkar deserved to take rest and then Yuvraj was not well, so we have picked the best available squad. We have analysed every problem… The injuries to the players… That is why the meeting took long,” said the former Test opener.

“We got very good inputs from the coach and the captain was also present. So I am really happy to have picked this squad. I think we will do well in the ODI and Test series,” he said."

Test squad: M S Dhoni (capt), V V S Laxman (vice-captain), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Subramaniam Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, S Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel (wk).

Limited-overs squad: Suresh Raina (capt), R Ashwin, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary, Shikhar Dhawan.


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More